Dream High Episodes 1 – 4

http://www.viki.com/channels/3548-dream-high-season-2

So I started watching Dream High 2. In fact, I FINALLY forced myself to finish watching Dream High so that I would be able to watch DH2 without spoilers, and I’m glad that I did. =A= If you haven’t finished the first season, d-don’t watch the second season LOL. The OPENING SCENE of the second season is a remake of the ENDING scene of the first season. Oh and you might not want to read the rest of this entry either.

So far, I’m not enjoying DH2 that much, and there are a lot of reasons for this that range from discontinuity, editing, scripting, directing, casting, the plotline…

I really feel that Dream High has lost its magic. There was this beautiful thing in the first season that just really grabbed your heart. You connected and couldn’t help loving all of the 6 main characters who were all talented, intelligent, and heartfelt. You had sympathy and respect for the teachers who on the inside, had kind hearts. It was a story about dreams, emotion, and never giving up. There was Samdong, the sweet and naive country bumpkin who didn’t let his origins or ear problems stop him from pursuing his dreams of being a singer and making it big. And you have to admit that there were times you thought that Hyemi and Baekhee were the huges bitches, but in the end, they really found themselves and their hearts, and they’re both extremely talented, to boot. The casting for the first season was perfect too: full of talent and different personalities, and with perfect chemistry. It was beautiful watching 6 talented individuals come together to struggle for their debut and to stand on stage as one.

Hi, Dream High 2. Wassup.

Uh.. the casting. Idk. I like Kang Sora because of We Got Married but.. I don’t know. Jinwoon was a good choice for his character, plus he’s great at singing and personally loves rock. Um…. I don’t knowww. ;_; I personally think that the new cast is lacking a bit in talent. Hyorin and Ailee are sooo so so so so good though, but they just seem like supporting characters with no real roles that were randomly casted and thrown in there only because they’re wonderful vocalists.

As for the plotline, it kind of irks me that the main character is a girl that has no talent in neither singing or dancing. I get that I guess it would inspire those that WANT something but aren’t yet capable for it, and encourage them to work at it? And to tell them that they have a chance? But. Q A Q It’s just not going to be fair if Hyesung really gets to debut in the end!! I’m not sure if she deserves it. >< Plus, she doesn’t have real passion in singing or performing. It’d be great if along the way, she developed that passion AND became an impressive singer, but…….. I don’t think Kang Sora herself is that great at singing or dancing, so that really limits the potential of her character Hyesung.

Also, Dream High has become a drama about the life of idols, rather than the lives of talented students who are finding themselves and struggling to finally make their debut.

The characters… x_X You may shoot me for this, but I can’t find a single character that’s NOT annoying. Pretty much all of them annoy me except for the dude that’s friends with Hyesung and is good at guitar, ’cause he’s talented, but he doesn’t really have a role. The rest of them are either irritating or have rotten personalities. I swear. I can’t relate to any of the characters and I’m not fond of them either. The only character I somewhat’ish like right now is JB and that’s because he’s kind of cute and can be somewhat charming Q A Q but he has shown malicious intentions and is rude as well, so I don’t like his character.

The scripting. is.. dumb. Sorry. And do the characters really NOT want us to know any of their names other than JB’s? None of their names stick with me. I’m LUCKY that by digging deep into my memory, I can remember Hyesung’s name and Jin Yoojin’s. … or at least I think Jinwoon’s character’s name is Jin Yoojin. O_O

The editing is crap. Like the editing for Invincible Youth 2. I wouldn’t be surprised if they were the same producers. Because the editing is crap. It’s not funny or interesting, and in fact, it’s awkward and looks INCREDIBLY CHEAP. Have you seen those random-ass segments where they perform or parody k-pop songs? CHEAP AS HELLLLL, not even funny, no connection to the actual storyline, really poorly executed and put together. /forever facepalming

And OH GODDDD the discontinuity. Seriously, what the fuck?
You can’t really blame me for this because it’s a clear fact that this IS in the same realm and setting as Dream High 1, only in the future. There are many signs of this. Teacher Yang [uh.. JYP’s character whose full name I will never remember] looks back and remembers all of the times that he had with the kids from Dream High 1. And in fact, the first scene of DH2 is the filming of a documentary of Samdong’s life. So one would assume that by then, Samdong had already made it big as K, to be deserving of a documentary.

I’m pretty sure the ending of Dream High 1 where it shows the characters in the future was 8 years or something after the time when most of the series took place? And at this time, Shi Kyung Jin had become principal of Kirin High School.
………. Well what the hell happened to that?! Okay, so considering that she is no longer the principal, and now we have a new worthless principal AND THE SCHOOL HAS RUN DOWN TO THE GROUND AND IS NOW LESS THAN MEDIOCRE, we can assume that DH2 takes place waaaaaaaay later than 8 years after Dream High 1. I don’t think Shi Kyung Jin would give up Kirin that easily PLUS I don’t think Baekhee would so easily leave being a teacher there, so this must have been quite a long, long, long time later.

… So why does Samdong.. look not a day older than how he looked in Dream High 1? And WHY does Hyesung run into Pilsuk at the music station? For one thing, Pilsuk basically stopped performing and started running a kindergarten.. plus, she went back to her larger figure. And she was happy. I highly doubt that she would have suddenly decided to go back to her thin body again, so why are we seeing a thin Pilsuk that’s still performing? Q A Q

And since when did Kirin have dorms? Although I guess maybe if they decided to build dorms after the time of Dream High 1…… And why is the school suddenly so TINY? It seems like there’s only like 30-40 students in the entire school, TOTAL now. Why are there only two teachers in total?? And I feel sooo bad for Teacher Yang… His life has gone COMPLETELY DOWNHILL since season 1.
But it confuses me that Teacher Yang seems to have lost his talents? .______. He was a great singer, great dancer, and great composer in season 1 but now suddenly he’s viewed as a useless, talentless piece of burden.

And I really don’t understand the whole thing about moving OZ Entertainment to Kirin. Aren’t there like 5-6 members in E-den? Yet they only show two and it seems like other than the fact that they had a performance with all of the members for a moment, the other members that aren’t JB and Shiwoo don’t exist at all.

~

I’m going to keep watching this series though. x_X I’m really hoping it goes only uphill from here l-lol.. Sorry that I have a lot of complaints.

February 12, 2012. 2AM, After School, Ailee, Dramas, SISTAR, T-ara.

One Comment

  1. Hello to Myself « Sing Your Dreams replied:

    […] Wonder Girls’ Ye Eun’s solo song “Hello to Myself” from Dream High 2. Uh. I don’t really like Dream High 2. For many reasons. BUT I fell for this song after I found out the meaning of the lyrics Q A Q And one day, I just […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

